advise on incubators

• 4 Replies

dye29

advise on incubators
« on: May 29, 2017, 19:37 »
hi all im new to this game but after keeping hens now its just like any pet lots of looking after and keeping clean , im fancying buying a incubator and hatching some bantams what advise do you have on this from start to finish , i have purchased a book on this waiting for it to come but all advise is great , im wanting to know what incubator to get only want to do 4 eggs to start and how to use then keep chicks until releaseing in pen with big hens
« Last Edit: May 29, 2017, 19:57 by dye29 »

dye29

Re: advise on incubators
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2017, 20:16 »
just purchased this incubator seems good brinsea Mini II Advance Incubator

Sassy

« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2017, 14:22 »
Incubators can be very fiddly unless you have an all singing and dancing one. If you haven't got a cockerel you could try finding local fertilised eggs and using a broody hen. You can get eggs over the internet but this can be hit and miss unless you can get a recommendation. Plenty of folk are successful even with basic incubators but you need to know your stuff and have a bit of luck.  :)
Experience is what you get when you didn't get what you wanted!!

dye29

« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2017, 20:12 »
ye i plan to buy eggs in , my incubators does everything , will this be ok but 4ft long by 2ft wide and 2ft high for 6 chicks and can this go in garage , i dont like the idea of a heat lamp on 24/7 incase of fire so wood a 15w electric brooder be ok .
$_58.JPG

janz70

« Reply #4 on: June 29, 2017, 10:17 »
check ebay for eggs but do a local search and collect - they will have a better chance  of surviving and then leave them rest for 24 hours before incubating them.