Strange Raspberries

• 13 Replies

Biscombe

• Experienced Member
Strange Raspberries
« on: July 09, 2006, 14:18 »
HI all! About 4 weeks ago I bought 3 raspberry plants from the garden centre, not seen many in the garden centres here in Spain so I was pleased to have them! The variery wasn't on the label, just said raspberry. Anyway.... the plants are fruiting now but the fruits look like blackberries and taste like a cross between a blackberry and raspberrys!! the plants look like raspberry plants!!! I'm very confused here!
Happy Gardening

Jake

• Rockers
Strange Raspberries
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2006, 15:06 »
Could they be tayberries? They're a little like raspberries but when they get too tall they won't stand upright without support. I'm not experienced at these fruit but growing them for the first time.

They taste to me how you describe them.

Edit: come to think of it, my raspberries are tiny compared to last year!
first there is a mountain then there is no mountain then there is

pixieface

Strange Raspberries
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2006, 15:39 »
Yup they are tayberries, very dark in colour and when fully ripe longer than rasps, not quite as sweet, but lovely in jelly or trifle or put them in a bowl and sprinkle with castor sugar and leave for an hour or so, the juice will start to come out of them, eat with either cream or yogurt.....yummy...
Trying to be green and as self sufficient as possible...........

stompy

Strange Raspberries
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2006, 16:17 »
They could be one of any of the hybrid berries, Boysenberry, Loganberry or Marionberry just to mention a few.

If you are realy bothered about finding out, you can send one to your local horticultural society and they will tell you what it is. :)

Biscombe

• Experienced Member
Strange Raspberries
« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2006, 20:22 »