Total newbies - build thread

• 32 Replies

Myv8growler

Total newbies - build thread
« on: April 09, 2012, 18:09 »
Hi all, we are soon to be new chicken owners.
We have wanted chickens for some years but always held off for some unknown reason.

I intend to build my own coop and I will attempt to run a build thread (with pics) as we go.
I welcome any and all advice along the way. We are hoping for 2-4 birds.

I have a space at the bottom of my garden which measures 4m x 1.5m which I want to use as a hen house and run.

I am going to sit down and draw up some plans, but my initial thoughts are around 5ft high with a polycarbonate roof to keep the chicks dry. I was going to lay some concrete foundations for under the sides and leave the floor as a soil base.

Here are some pics of what I have to play with.

I intend to use the whole area to the left of the red line.

If the rain stops tomorrow, I'm gonna start digging.
« Last Edit: April 09, 2012, 18:11 by Myv8growler »

Ice

• muck spreader
Re: Total newbies - build thread
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2012, 18:14 »
Welcome to the forum. :)  Ask as many questions as you like and have a look in the search facility as there have been many threads about projects like this.

Do you have any urban foxes where you are?
Cheese makes everything better.

Myv8growler

« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2012, 18:18 »
No urban foxes that I am aware of.

As for the questions, I am sure they will come thick and fast.
Not too sure which chickens to get yet, but I will start with the house and go from there.

I have looked at some of the coops you can buy on eBay which seem perfectly good, but I want to make it a bit more personal and to accommodate the space I have put on one side.

I have read some of the threads already with some build pictures so I am armed with a number of ideas.

devonbarmygardener

• I live, therefore I garden!
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2012, 22:18 »
Enjoy the process!