Parsnips I知 heartbroken!

• 28 Replies

logi06

Parsnips I知 heartbroken!
« on: October 22, 2017, 12:35 »
I removed as many stones as possible and turned soil over a few times in my raised beds before I plants seeds.
Thus is the fourth year I have tried these. I don稚 know what else to try
BAEA7ADF-0343-46D1-B4E9-9B1AA3D30E0C.jpeg

gstrong

Re: Parsnips I知 heartbroken!
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2017, 13:14 »
Hello, I had carrots that went a similar way this year in a new raised planter. I was told it was probably because the soil was too rich for them.
I'm just starting out so probably getting lots wrong, but gotta start somewhere :-)
20170630_182956.jpg

logi06

« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2017, 13:17 »
Thanks I have not changed the soil in four years, it痴 so frustrating
I may give up on parsnips,

Christine

« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2017, 14:45 »
This year a lot of us up here have had problems with parsnips. Everything from not germinating at all to not growing much. Perhaps you are one of us who have had problems.

arh

« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2017, 15:54 »
My advice, (for what it's worth), is to sow the seed in richie paper pots, about 2" in diameter, (a neutadol spray can is what I used), make it approx 6" in length. when the true leaves show put it in the plot, pot and all, don't wait too long as the root grows at an alarming rate. All my parsnips came good this year.

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2017, 17:57 »
I removed as many stones as possible and turned soil over a few times in my raised beds before I plants seeds.
Thus is the fourth year I have tried these. I don稚 know what else to try

How deep are your raised beds?

Is there a base lining?

What is underneath the beds?
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

Alifink

• Don't follow me, I'm lost too
« Reply #6 on: October 23, 2017, 12:32 »