Do cucumbers get worn out?

• 7 Replies

EssexPete

Do cucumbers get worn out?
« on: August 11, 2018, 10:24 »
I'm a novice cucumber grower.
I've got a Cucino in a 22L pot in my greenhouse. It's grown up the netting and across the width of the greenhouse.
I picked the first Cue on 15th June and since then I've had 251 cucumbers from the one plant
But for the last week the plant looks tired and there are no flowers or baby cucumbers forming.
Is that usual?
Thanks

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
Re: Do cucumbers get worn out?
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2018, 12:06 »
It has done really well, already, don't you think  :lol:
It could probably do with a good feed and a soak (preferably with rain water) which might just get it going again. Seaweed feed is good at times like these.

EssexPete

« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2018, 12:47 »
Thanks mumofstig - I think it's done amazingly well - overwhelmed with cucumbers - the neighbours are glad to have a rest from them :) That's why I was wondering if it's exhausted and dying. It's only my 2nd year growing them.
I feed it weekly with Miracle-grow (as advised elsewhere on this forum) and just about everything gets seaweed extract every 10ish days. Rain water has been in short supply until a couple of days ago - I've now got about 800 litres of the stuff - hooray!
There's no new growth and the leaves are looking 'autumnal'

madcat

« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2018, 17:40 »
I'm green with envy!  You are doing amazing .... Wow. (Mine took one look at the hot days and decided flowering was not its thing.  Two cucumbers was its lot, and it has sat there ever since.....  Miracle Gro, shading, sun, water, swearing ...  Nope.  )
All we need to make us really happy is something to be enthusiastic about (Charles Kingsley)

EssexPete

« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2018, 18:13 »
Ha-ha - thanks!!
Here's a pic from mid July when we were all getting fed up trying to think what else to have with cucumbers :)