Scented plants

• 32 Replies

Rich72

• Experienced Member
Scented plants
« on: April 01, 2012, 22:46 »
Hi all. Had a major garden reshuffle this year. I have been growing veg in pots for last 3 years and now I have an allotment I am left with empty pots and baskets at home this year. I have made a herb garden out of a pallet. Can anyone one give me hints of what flowers to put in my empty tubs. I really wanted a tropical feel to the patio, to remind me of relaxing holidays but I also want something heavily scented and attractive to the bees.. Any advice will be great fully received .
Ps I have a few small lavender plants dotted around

Rich

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
Re: Scented plants
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2012, 09:22 »
This is a lovely Nicotiana affinis    You can buy seed cheaper on ebay

I grow it every year in the tubs by my front door  :)

The coloured bedding Nicotiana you see in the shops just don't smell as sweetly as this one does. if your tubs are somewhere sheltered it sometimes regrows, as it is a tender perennial but the seeds grow very quickly/easily.

compostqueen

« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2012, 09:28 »
Heliotrope (cherry pie) smells fab  :)

Night scented stocks smell gorgeous but are not lookers but they can be sowed in situ once you've placed your other plants in the tub. They are spindly, weedy looking jobs but they should be hidden by the other plants. The smell is amazing in the evenings  :)

Babycat

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2012, 09:46 »
If you have the space for a crawler, jasmine and honeysuckle give off great smell.  If you have space for a shrub,  a lilac or an oleander if you are somewhere sunny. 
Look for a white, cream, apricot, yellow rose which give off a sweeter/fruitier smell than red/pink roses.  Try to find an open cup rose, like a rugosa, which is easier for the bees.