Courgette/pumpkin conundrum

• 4 Replies

scousemouse

Courgette/pumpkin conundrum
« on: August 23, 2009, 01:13 »
I'm a second-year allotmenteer and I've got a query about the pumpkins I'm growing. 

I got some Hallowe'en pumpkins - an F1 hybrid, can't remember the exact variety -  to grow from T&M and when they fruited I was very proud and they're very definitely pumpkin shaped.  However, they're still green and stripey!  A friend of mine took some thinking they were round courgettes and cooked and ate them as if they were.  Normally I'd ignore this, but her mother who ate them is a botanist by trade!

So after about a month the size is coming along nicely, but they're still green and stripey with no sign of going orange.

So what could they be? Pumpkin or courgette?  I will say that the pumpkins are in the same 3m raised bed as the courgettes and I wondered if they could've cross-pollinated?

I'll try and take some pics and upload them tomorrow for you experts here to look at.  The thing is, if they ARE round courgettes then that means we've got about 8 courgette plants in total! Eeeek!

galen

• Experienced Member
Re: Courgette/pumpkin conundrum
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2009, 08:17 »
My pumpkin started off green and and stripy(ish) but went yellow, however Beetroot queen had a problem with her squashes from T&M :

http://chat.allotment-garden.org/index.php?topic=42816.0
Paul, Andrew, Kevin, Galen - My parents got bored of normal names in the end!

scousemouse

« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2009, 14:48 »
Thanks for pointing me to that thread.  Much appreciated.  Mine don't look like that one - they're a dark green, possibly a little darker than the courgettes.

I'll take some photos and post them so everyone can see.  I'm going up to the plot tomorrow.

Salmo

« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2009, 16:08 »