Moregettes, Green Tomato overload, and what next :)

• 6 Replies

fatgit

« on: August 30, 2006, 17:03 »
Firstly, my courgettes are STILL producing more!
I only have 3 plants, but they've grown like wildfire, and I've already had about 20lb of courgettes off them, how much longer will they go on for, and what do I do when they stop - leave them in or pull them out ?
As a total newbie, I have no idea yet, and haven't got round books due to other things :)

Just like the courgettes, the tomato plants seem to want to be tree's, despite cutting back etc, and I have more green tomatoes than I could count.
I've taken a load off wrapped them in paper, as a friend said they would ripen, but after well over a week, they're still as green as my gardening abilities, and so are the dozens still on the plants :)
I believe they're Moneymaker variety (wife decided to clean up about a week after I bought all the seeds & started some germinating, and threw the lot away), so does anyone have any ideas on the best way to ripen them ?
I'm not too keen on green tomato chutney etc :)

Lastly, the courgettes, lettuce, tomatoes and cucumbers are all in 2 raised beds, so will I be OK to grow some of the winter suggestions in there, after these plants finish ? I don't know anything about rotation or resting yet, so I'm flying a bit blind :)

The main patch isn't having anything planted after the beetroot & fennel are ready, as there are some bushes that need clearing to give some more light, and the only access is over the patch, plus, I intend on converting it to raised beds - they're so much easier to work with :)

Appreciate any ideas :)
Organic where possible, unless it involves the snails that now seem to be eating the slug pellets for fun

lentil987

• Experienced Member
    • http://www.dancingbear.co.uk
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2006, 17:32 »