Greenhouse base

• 11 Replies

Trikervix

Greenhouse base
« on: July 14, 2006, 22:15 »
Hello folks, you've got a newbie here please be gentle!

I've just aquired a green house, and as I've no desire to grow flowers (unless they're edible!) I hope to use it for growing veg etc, now I don't have much experience of these things apart from a few container grown tomatoes peppers and carrots some years ago, so what I'd like to know is what I should put down as a base for the greenhouse?
Should I use slabs, gravel or a mixture of the two?
 :?

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
Greenhouse base
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2006, 23:00 »
Hi TV, when I got my first little greenhouse, OH made a brick base around the outside to stand the greenhouse on, then inside he made a concrete patch 2 thirds of the way up the middle.  The first year I grew my tomatoes in the border soil as it was virgin soil, then the 2nd year I didn't want tomato blight getting a hold so I laid down some weed suppressant and covered one side with gravel which is where my staging goes, and some bark we had on the other 2 sides and this year, I have some of my cucumbers in there growing in pots standing on the bark.

John

• Administrator
    • Low Cost Living
Greenhouse base
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2006, 08:22 »
The little greenhouse at home has a flagged base so everything is grown in pots but the one on the allotment will (if I ever get the thing up) have soil borders at the sides.

Soil borders, with lots of compost etc, are great in that they tend to hold water so if you miss watering one day things are OK. The down side is that the soil can sicken so you need to dig out at least the top six inches and replace each year to stop build ups of disease.

Benefits for the veg grower are an early start on most things and a later finish.

A lot of people grow late potatoes for Christmas in their greenhouse and get some very early potatoes in the spring. Over winter salads in the house as well.