Inherited Compost Heap - advice needed!

• 20 Replies

pawlitan

Inherited Compost Heap - advice needed!
« on: April 13, 2016, 14:55 »
Hello all! We've just got our first plot (quicker than expected!) and are total newbies. We've inherited this compost heap (see attached!) which has been left uncovered for goodness knows how long and looks a little bit sorry. We don't know what to do with it, someone on a neighbouring plot advised us to burn it, which seems like a bit of a waste.

Is the good stuff rescuable? Thanks  :)

image1.jpeg
image2.jpeg
image1.jpeg
« Last Edit: April 13, 2016, 14:56 by pawlitan »

New shoot

• Global Moderator
Re: Inherited Compost Heap - advice needed!
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2016, 15:06 »
Hi pawlitun and welcome to the forum  :D  Congratulations on your new plot as well. 

There is some rough stuff there which is probably best burnt, but if you dismantle the heap, you may find that there is some good stuff inside.

Just be wary if you find lots of live looking roots.  These could be from perennial weeds and they will regrow in the heap. 

Maybe post some more pictures once you have dug into the heap and we can see what's inside.  We have lots of composting gurus on here and I'm sure they will have plenty of advice  :)

BabbyAnn

« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2016, 15:23 »
I'd go along with New Shoot - the worst bit about finding the roots in the compost is that you might have been more aware of them in say mid-summer when plants like bindweed will be above ground by then but not so obvious at the moment.  The compost pile could be full of weed seeds too (if you don't know the history of the last tenant) but personally, I'd look at it carefully ... if it looked suspicious - I think you'd know - then maybe not, but if it is crumbly brown compost then I think I would happily use it.

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2016, 15:25 »