asparagus shooting up

• 18 Replies

barney rubble

• We are Barney and Rubble and we love digging
asparagus shooting up
« on: May 27, 2009, 17:18 »
Its my first year growing the stuff, but the last couple of days has seen the single stems soar upwards - I've got one thats 18 inches tall - I swear it was only 4 inches at the weekend. Has anybody else seen this in theirs, and is it down to the good bank holiday weather we had ?

Can anybody advise how tall  they get before the ferns start appearing? Such a pity I can't cut one to try :tongue2:

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
Re: asparagus shooting up
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2009, 18:01 »
I'm cutting a big bunch every day, they're growing that fast.

At 18" tall, the spears should very soon start to open.
Did it really tell you to do THAT on the packet?

Elcie

« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2009, 18:16 »
Sounds brilliant!  I got some extra space this year so am thinking about having an asparagus bed.  When is the best time to plant one?

barney rubble

« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2009, 18:27 »
Sounds brilliant!  I got some extra space this year so am thinking about having an asparagus bed.  When is the best time to plant one?

I only planted mine out on 21/4/09 Elcie. I bought one year old crowns. A couple of them are very thin, but suppose you've got to expect a feeble start initially. You can't crop them for the first year tho, so you don't sap the roots of energy, so just let them turn into ferns. Can't wait for next year's crop tho :D

DD.

• Global Moderator
« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2009, 18:46 »
I started mine from seed about 7-8 years ago, knowing that it would be a long term project & 3 years from sowing until I could cut some.

From 40 seed I sowed that a fellow plot holder gave me from his plants, I got 39 crowns & have a glut of it every year now.

barney rubble

« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2009, 19:17 »