How to repair a run down shed

• 3 Replies

Steerpike

« on: January 06, 2007, 10:53 »
Hi

I have inherited a large and sturdy shed with my plot. It looks to be structurally sound and well made. It's made from reclaimed billboards and advertising boards. The wood is therefore some kind of plywood - smooth planed. It doesnt look to have been treated at all and it looks a bit rotten in some places.

The roof is sloping to the rear and there is guttering in place. The roof is felted but it looks a bit ragged.

Inside is reasonably dry but damp in certain corners.

I am a complete novice and want to restore the shed to make it as dry and weatherproofed as possible. Can anyone recommend some good products for restoring and protecting smooth planed wood/ damp proofing/ felting? I want to make it nice inside as well so any advice on inner protection would be useful.

Thanks

muntjac

« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2007, 11:46 »
i would be inclined to use bitumastic paint and felt the whole thing .run the strips of felt lengthways across the roof after you have done the same with the sides starting at the bottom and over lapping the next strip over the previos one .then run the roof felt slightly over the rear edge into the gutter use 1/2 felt tacks to secure it and maybe some battens for extra strength paint the battens with bitumin on one side before nailing and then paint the top and sides it wont hurt if you run the paint down the gap between the felt and the wood.. someone else may have another idea to help you
still alive /............

noshed

« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2007, 13:25 »