Is my hen is broody? and/or how to break your broody

• 3 Replies

Casey76

Is my hen is broody? and/or how to break your broody
« on: February 17, 2011, 07:46 »
As it is coming up to spring we will probably find that some of our hens will start to go broody.  I thought I would try to address some of the questions which surround this. (disclaimer: I'm not an expert, so please don't take the information below to be "gospel" or the only answer)

First of all... what is broodiness, and how can you tell if your hen is broody.

OK; broodiness is a natural instinct in female hens to sit on eggs to incubate them, and later to raise any offspring until approximately 8 weeks of age.

Broodiness varies from breed to breed, and even from hen to hen.  Some breeds, such as silkies, are infamous for their brooding instinct; others, e.g. hybrid layers, have all but had thier brooding instinct  bred out of them and are classed as "non-sitters".

Broodiness is hormonally driven (no jokes please lads!), mainly by the production of prolactin in the pituitary gland; and it is a cyclical affair during the spring months, but it is not confined to spring, especially in particularly broody breeds (e.g. silkies, brahmas, cochins, pekins etc).

The drive to brood can be extreme, and hens have been known to sit not only on eggs, but on golf balls, even pebbles.  A broody will hoard eggs from other hens, and if you have more than one broody hen they will squabble over the eggs and try to steal them off each other.

You will be able to recognise broodiness, or even impending broodiness by several signs.

1) Broodiness is usually preceded by a reluctance to leave a nesting box.  At first the hen may only show some indecision, and wander in and out of the nesting area several times without ever settling.