Complete novice! Stupid questions alert!

• 10 Replies

spy

• http://www.landyworld.co.uk
« on: August 06, 2006, 21:05 »
Hi all,

Have wanted to grow my own for years now and finally have moved to a house with a bit of garden she who must be obeyed says I can have!  I dont have a huge ammount of room (hardly any) about 2 x 4 metres.  

I am already growing some spuds in old car tyres (any comments?, I have read about this but I am not so sure!).  I have ordered the variety pack of veg seedlings from http://www.dobies.co.uk/cffiles/varieties.cfm?var_ref=3812&rand=0.78148511&cat_ca_ref=527
because I am far too impatient to wait untill spring!  I have dug the turf off the patch but can I dig it in at this time of year?  Its in a mound at one end of the patch at the moment, covered in carboard in an attempt to kill it.  

If I dig it in, will I get a lawn growing through my veg?  
What else can I plant at this time of year?  I have an arch made of trellis in the garden that I would like to cover with something I can eat, any suggestions?

Any beginners tips will be gratefuly received!  As I said, I am a complete novice but determined to produce at least a small amount!  

Cheers folks

Mike

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2006, 21:20 »
Hi Mike, welcome to the mad house!  

(didn't mean it John honestly, please don't give me any more lines please!!!!) lol

Getting a bit late to grow much now, salad stuff is still going in, and some early bits ready for next year like spring cabbage

Here are a few suggestions from some of the others on here:

Rugbymad said:   Most of the salad veg are still sowable. Radish, Lettuce, chicory, Salad Onions etc... There is still time for winter cabbage and perhaps some kale. Carrots should be okay until early August. You should look out for japanese onion sets as they can be planted next month to harvest in May/June next year. And finally, under cover why not try some spuds for Christmas