what now????

• 3 Replies

lentil987

• Experienced Member
    • http://www.dancingbear.co.uk
what now????
« on: April 18, 2006, 20:27 »
Hi,

This is my first year with an allotment and I am pretty much doing everything by the allotment book. However as we have had such a bad winter I have hung back with alot of planting as the old hands on the allotment site have told me to wait.
My question for now is .. am I on the right tract
I have tomato plants in the house growing quite well in peat pots. I plan to put them out end of May.
Corgettes are growing in peat pots - now have four leaves - when do I plant them out in the allotment?
Also have red cabbage now again have four leaves as do the cauliflowers - when do I plant them out?
Sweetcorns are growing in peat pots - all looking lovely - I have never grown them before and they are now about 4 inches high in the pots.

Peppers are looking fabulous in little tiny pots - again when do I move them on? Can I plant any of this outdoors under cloches or should they wait a while longer.

Cucumbers have four leaves and waiting with the rest!

I have leeks in little pots all looking spindly - can I just plant them out anytime now?

In my shed I have tiny brussel sprouts just germinated as well as french bean (just about to germinate), and cabbages again just germinated.

I also have loads of seeds - carrots (have planted some out already but nothing happening)

I have swede and turnip seeds waiting to be planted and thought I might do that tomorrow as I have a day off but not sure if its the right sort of time?

do you think I am heading in the right direction or do I hold back a bit yet?

Thanks in advance for any hints and tips :lol:
Every child is born a naturalist. His eyes are, by nature,
open to the glories of the stars, the beauty of the flowers,
and the mystery of life.  
-  R. Search

Jake

• Rockers
what now????
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2006, 21:39 »