Log burner to heat water?

• 1 Replies

DeanoB

Log burner to heat water?
« on: July 06, 2017, 21:48 »
I should start of my explaining i am very new to having an allotment and have only a little construction knowledge.

On my newly aquired allotment (which is in an absolute state) I have a cabin/greenhouse that the last tenant built out of old windows, scaffold boards and other timber. It is pretty sturdy but needs alot of tlc to get it into shape for purpose as a weatherproof workshed and possible green house.

The guy opposite me showed me his set up in a conventional shed that leads onto a green house. It consists of a log burner with back burner piped up to a water tank. Burner in the shed, pipes in the greenhouse.

I want to replicate this somehow.

So i have bought a log burner derived from an old gas bottle with the intention of putting it into my cabin/greenhouse question is, is it possible to retro fit a back burner to it?

The roof of my cabin/greenhouse is mainly polycarb...should i have concerns about embers? Would i be ok if i put an elbow on the flu and sent the flu out of one of the walls?

Thanks for any advice you can give me.

rowlandwells

Re: Log burner to heat water?
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2017, 21:05 »
we have a solid fuel burner that burns both wood and coal  if you have a good supply of wood its the most cost effective the burner has cast pipes the water goes to a cast tank and returns back to the burner basically circulating the hot water that heats under the staging  the heater is about 70 years old

we usually light the heater if we are doing something in the greenhouse like tidying up say on a winters day and when we start growing in the spring