Saffron

• 15 Replies

Dirt Diver

• Experienced Member
Saffron
« on: October 01, 2010, 20:12 »
Hi

I bought Saffron bulbs for the first time this year, and they are just coming through.  Has anyone ever grown them.  Mine have just come through but should I be protecting them.
Any other info would be appreciated. :D :D

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: Saffron
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2010, 20:15 »
According to this cultivation info from the RHS shop, I don't think they need protection.

But I'm no expert so wouldn't swear to it.
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

Pip Judgeford

« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2010, 08:29 »
Moderator: would it be possible to shift this thread from cooking to growing please?

What a crazy & cool crop!

I've been growing saffron for 5 years now. If your corms are large enough to flower, they will do so really soon: within 2-3 weeks of the tuft of leaves coming up.  Then they grow long leaves that lie around like very untidy chives.  My plants are dying off now, which means early April for you.

Protection: two things spring to mind.  Always pick the flowers early in the day to stop the pollen getting on the style and polluting your saffron crop.  Regular & early picking also stops the mice have a good chew on the flowers.

The second thing is weeds.  Its so easy to pull up a corm when weeding! :mad:  So I now mulch with 2-3 inches of sawdust or bark mulch, which on my 2m x 3.5 m saffron bed saves a heap of work.

We also get a native bird which chews on the new leaves and corms :mad: :mad: :mad: but I dont think that would be a problem for you?  The Pukeko is a swamp hen which lives on grass tillers and the thick bases of sedge leaves etc so saffron is pretty attractive.

I've been keeping a log of corm size, harvest amount/time and how fast the corms bulk up, because there's not much info around for home growers (although there are a ahdnful of commercial growers in NZ)