My aggressive cockerel

• 11 Replies

Sally J Smith

My aggressive cockerel
« on: May 09, 2011, 15:45 »
I wonder if anyone out there can help me - I am completely new to this!
I've been keeping my 3 hybrid hens for over a year and they give me eggs every day
and have never stopped laying.  However, I have always wanted a cockerel 'cos I
think they are just so beautiful.  By chance about 3 months ago I got a Barnvelder cockerel, aged about 10-12 weeks old, who was unwanted and was destined for the pot.  I brought him home, I'm not sure what my girls thought but he settled in immediately, we named hime Rocky, and the girls are still happily laying.
My problem is, apart from the fact he has grown into a big magnificent handsome bird, he is very aggressive and attacks my hubby/anyone who gets too close - I'm ok so long as I'm armed with a broom..... oddly we can pick him up and he quite likes a cuddle but the minute your back is turned he attacks. (He likes to crow a bit too but nothing to bad if he is out & about)
Sadly, I need either very good advice or Rocky has to go.  I believe our garden is simply not big enough, if he had enough roaming area where he didn't come into contact with us, there wouldn't be a problem.  He is very attentive to his hens, constantly on guard around them, puts them away at dusk - a brilliant and fab cockerel - but too aggressive for our garden.
I am happy to show pictures if anyone would like to have him, but all I really want, is for him to go to a good home with his own territory and some new ladies.  Anyone out there interested?  >:(
Married with three girls & two boys (aged 12 - 21), 2 dogs - a fab black labrador & a spotty collie dalmation X and 3 much loved hens... (soon to be minus an unpredictable barnevelde cockerel....)

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
Re: My aggressive cockerel
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2011, 15:51 »