Propagators?

• 10 Replies

borderowl

Propagators?
« on: March 18, 2012, 22:04 »
Forgive my ignorance being quite a newbie! but are propagators a must when growing  tomatoes etc. from seed? I want to try growing my veg from seed this year instead of buying plants and want to get them going early to lengthen the season. Any advice over heated or unheated ones or do you really need them? thanks Kev

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
Re: Propagators?
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2012, 22:06 »
No you don't need them.

I've been growing tomatoes for over 40 years and the most I've used is a plastic bag.

That's not to say you can't use them, but I can think of other thing to spend my money on.
Did it really tell you to do THAT on the packet?

sunshineband

• Global Moderator
  • Tallest Sunflower prizewinner 2014
    • A Little Bit of Sunshine
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2012, 09:03 »
The only seeds I ever use a heated propagator for are aubergines and chillis, and anything that is basicaly tropical that I am attempting to grow here  :blink: :unsure:

Tomatoes, celelry etc germinate just fine i the greenhouse, which is warm enough

If I had a heated airing cupboard I would just use that instead

Wisdom is knowing what to ignore - be comfortable in your own skin.
My Blog
My Diary
My Diary Comments

Kleftiwallah

« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2012, 10:50 »

I use the blue plastic trays in which mushrooms are sold, (holes burnt in the bottom with a soldering iron).  There are clear plastic trays that are a close fir to use as lids and keep the moisture content high.    ::)  Cheers,     Tony.
I may be growing OLD, but I refuse to grow UP !

stompy

« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2012, 12:23 »
I use a prop for my toms, chillies, peppers, cucumbers and mellons.