Raspberries - how late can I plant them?

• 9 Replies

allotmentgemma

Raspberries - how late can I plant them?
« on: March 15, 2017, 12:36 »
Hi there,

I'm a brand new to allotments! I was allocated a plot a while ago but am still waiting for the council to actually give me a key so I can get started. Have I missed the boat on planting some stuff for this year?

I was really hoping to get some fruit canes in (probably raspberries) but worried that it is a bit late in the day for that now? I was wondering whether I could instead get some small plants (more expensive I know) instead of canes so that I might get some crop for this year. How late do you think I could transplant these into the ground?

Total newbie at this so would really appreciate any advice!   

New shoot

• Global Moderator
Re: Raspberries - how late can I plant them?
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2017, 12:53 »
You can still get canes bundled together in a pot.  I saw some at a garden centre last week. These are lifted bare-root, but put into a pot of compost to stop the roots drying out and are not too dear.

They will have started growing by now, so get the rootball really wet, pull the plants apart gently and pot them up in their own pots.  They can stay like that for a few weeks until you get your key.

Hello and welcome btw   :)

Hampshire Hog

« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2017, 14:01 »
Hi there allotmentgemma your other option at this time of year is to have a word with other allotment owners and see if they have any runners they can give you for nothing! Raspberries have a tendency to grow where you want them but also pop up all over the allotment. All you need is some the root and the emerging shoot ask around and you may get enough to kick you off this year.

Good luck
HH
Keep digging

AnnieB

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2017, 16:57 »