Prepping for chickens

• 10 Replies

CatsGarden

Prepping for chickens
« on: May 08, 2013, 19:19 »
Hi

I've just got my first ever allotment and want chickens so am getting sorted for some chooks but don't want to just rush in and regret it later.

I have been reading several books on chicken care but my head is spinning due to the information so I thought maybe put the plan here (based on what I've read in the books) and see if I *have* understood correctly...

First of all I am thinking about getting 4 hens to begin with as I have very little experience with hens beyond what I covered in the livestock portion of BTEC Nat Cert in Animal Management - I have practical experience in catching, health checking and wing clipping a fairly docile hen.

Was thinking 1 each of

Gingernut Ranger

Light Sussex

Pied Suffolk

Rhode Rock/Black Rock

so I can easily tell them apart at quick glance until I start learning more about them I can get easily confused

the coop will be raised with attached run of 6ftx6ftx4ft fully roofed (foxes common around here)

Was thinking about doing the base under the entire coop/run in grooved concrete as the allotment is on a slope to make sure the pen doesn't end up being a quagmire, then based on the info in the books put a bed of wood chips on top for them to scratch about in so they aren't on the concrete itself.

This is so a) they don't end up living in a marsh/waterfall whenever it rains excessively b) I don't need to worry about the soil getting 'hen sick' - it all just gets swept up and composted/bonfire fuel after a few weeks and fresh down c) no chance of foxes digging in

They are going to get to free range within the entire allotment whenever me or mum are down there so will get to scratch about in the soil, forage the grassy areas and among the established plants - any delicate plants will be netted off.