pigeon manure

• 11 Replies

Brassica Blaz

• Experienced Member
pigeon manure
« on: June 10, 2009, 16:47 »
hi every one.
 i have a sourse of pidgeon poo from a friend,i have about 10 bags on my lotty waiting now till autumn and its still fresh stuff and wiffs abit.my question is would it be best to empty it out in a pile to rot down,or will this still happen in the bag?do i need to let the air get to it? not really sure what to do! :)
« Last Edit: June 10, 2009, 20:10 by Ice »

ravenaround

Re: pidgeon manure
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2009, 17:51 »
I'm no Expert but I do think you can use Pidgeon poo no problem. Heck they use bat Gauno for fertilizer So I'd say our local Sky rats poo is fine.

Don't take my word as final though I only started out growing veg last year.

oldbean

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2009, 17:52 »
It'll probably be like chicken poo, and need only a light dressing if applied directly. How big are the bags? Ten bags sounds like it would do a LOT of ground.

karooba007

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2009, 20:02 »
i used to keep pigeons. my neighbour use to take the stuff off me and use it lightly, fresh.
in return my pigeons used to eat some of his veg, and he used to chase them and throw stones to scare my lovely's away, b*****d  :mad:. this was before i started veg. growing  :).
« Last Edit: June 10, 2009, 20:05 by karooba007 »

Trillium

Re: pigeon manure
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2009, 20:13 »
If it's poo from racing pigeons, then it's fine. It its poo from wild birds that roost in say a dovecote, I'd be very careful of lice and other not nice things. Pigeon keepers ensure their birds are healthy and pest free.
It would probably stink a lot less if you dumped all the bags into a pile and let it age that way.

Bozwell

• Experienced Member
« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2009, 20:47 »