Where to start! New Allotment!

• 7 Replies

Steerpike

« on: November 20, 2006, 12:47 »
Hi there,

Just acquired a new allotment of dimensions 150ft x 13ft - very long and thin. I'm a complete novice and need some help on where to start.

The plot is overgrown with grass and weeds but most of it looks to be ok to just dig over. Otherwise I have a scythe which should cope ok with the rest.

I need some advice on how to go about this - I want to grow pretty standard stuff - potatoes, carrots etc...and need to know what to do first. I think we should be able to mark out plots and then start digging this week. Should I dig the weeds into the soil or try and rake / scythe them into a pile for burning? (Im not allowed a 'smoky' fire though!).

Can anyone give me some rough dimensions for plot sizes (for potatoes, carrots, beetroot etc..) ?- bear in mind I'm a novice and need a manageable first plot.

Also, there is free horse manure - how will I know if this is rotted enough to dig into the plots?

Thanks

tully

• Experienced Member
Where to start....new allotment.
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2006, 12:52 »
Hi,

Welcome...I got a plot not very different to your dimensions.....you can look at the gallery...

We already had raised beds but you couldnt see them.

Its taken two months to get to a position where I cant do any more...

Clear the site of weeds...first....as many out as you can get.

then make a plan....I think you need about four times the area of other produce for potatoes.

I have attached a plan .....its worth a look.
Get rid of all the rubbish you can find on the plot...and pile neatly all the re usable stuff...in a corner to use as and when you need it.

Have a good time - thats the most important thing.
YOUR NEVER ALONE WITH A CABBAGE

muntjac

« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2006, 13:05 »