help complete beginner!!

• 9 Replies

joannebolton

help complete beginner!!
« on: August 09, 2006, 18:19 »
Hi everyone,

just got my plot from the council and its all over grown. how do i start? whats the best way to clear it all? i must be mad as i have never done this before. got a greenhouse from a friend so that will be up soon. whats the best kind of plants to plant for the comming winter? oh my goodness i might be here for many hours!!! thanks in advance for any help!

Glastonbury 10

THE START
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2006, 19:54 »
HI JOANNE,
I THINK YOU SHOULD FORGET ABOUT THE SO CALLED BIG DIG, AND SIT DOWN WITH A PENCIL/ PAPER  AND DRAW OUT YOUR PLOTT HOW YOU WOULD LIKE IT TO LOOK THIS TIME NEXT YEAR.
WORK OUT WHERE YOUR PERMANENT STRUCTURE'S WILL GO SHED/GREENHOUSE/COMPOST BINS ETC/WILD LIFE POND WHAT EVER TAKES YOUR FANCY, THEN DRAW IN A NUMBER OF INDIVIDUAL  BEDS, NOT TO BIG THOUGH,  BUT WITH ENOUGH ROOM TO WORK BETWEEN THEM PATHWAYS ETC.
THEN ON YOUR PLAN NUMBER YOUR BEDS, AND CHOOSE WHAT YOU WOULD LIKE TO GO IN THEM, IE HERBS IN BED 1, FRUIT IN BED 2 ETC.
BUT JUST KEEP IT SIMPLE, SO THE ONLY BITS YOU DIG WILL BE THE BEDS.
GLASTONBURY 10 WAS DONE IN THIS WAY, IT WORKED FOR ME.
PETE  :D
PS GOOD LUCK

joannebolton

help complete beginner!!
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2006, 21:31 »
thanks, thats a great help. never done this kind of thing so fingers crossed. does anyone recommend week killing the plot before attempting anything? if so what week killer does anyone recommend?

thanks again.

noshed

help complete beginner!!
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2006, 22:47 »
If you have a lot of perennial weeds - bindweed, couch grass, horsetail etc you could think about giving them a belt of glyphosate. This is a systemic weedkiller (it gets taken up through the leaves and gets into the roots and kills the plant, if you're lucky.)