Will our school chickens be safe?

• 16 Replies

Reflection

Will our school chickens be safe?
« on: July 16, 2013, 20:57 »
Hello. I'm a teacher in a school that has three chickens. We hatched the chickens in the classroom and they now live in a quad garden in the centre of the school. In the garden is a large oak tree and the chickens have loads of room to run around and scratch about in the earth. The children love them and we get an egg from each of chickens every day. It seemed to be the perfect set up......however.

Today one of the cleaners found a fox in the corridor. It had walked straight into the school through reception. I'm now worried. Could a fox get in over the roof? Would he jump down a drop of 20ft into the quad. I don't think he could get out again. The chickens are put into a coop with a run over night but with no extra security as I didn't ever think a fox could get in. Now I'm wondering how capable a fox could be. Do you think that, as the fox had to come into the school, it's because he couldn't get over? One of the children said that one of the chickens was flapping, calling out and jumping up and down today. He went out to 'comfort' her....could it be that she knew there was a fox about?......worried  :unsure:
« Last Edit: July 16, 2013, 22:10 by Reflection »

ANHBUC

• "You looking at me?!!!"
will our school chickens be safe
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2013, 21:04 »
Welcome to the site Reflection.   :D

The hens will sense danger, a fox has an unmistakable odour.  The fox was probably attracted by the hens rosey and thought it might grab an easy meal.  They are good tree climbers so could use the tree to gain entry to the hens.  Once they know there is food available they can be very determined but they will often go for the easy meal.  This could be from the school kitchens or bins.   ;)
Ain't Nobody Here But Us Chickens!