butternut (and other) squash

• 17 Replies

VioletSky

butternut (and other) squash
« on: March 21, 2010, 22:45 »
I'm very new at this so sorry if this sounds like a stupid question... how many squash will one plant produce?

Jonajo

• Experienced Member
Re: butternut (and other) squash
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2010, 22:50 »
i suspect it depends on so many things but last year I planted 4 butternut squashes and got over 30 large squashes.
"Set down the wine and the dice and perish the thought of tomorrow"

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2010, 08:34 »
Depends on which variety you plant, the smaller squashes tend to produce more, like say a courgette, and the bigger the fruit the fewer they produce.

My butternuts were not very good last year, as it was so very dry here, but i still got 3 or 4 a plant, whereas the Thelma Sanders gave me lots more :)

Which variety were you thinking of?

VioletSky

« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2010, 09:27 »
Wh00t!! I thought you might say one per plant, and I didn't want to take up so much allotments space for just one solitary squash!!

I only have 6' spare and I have seeds for:
1. Early fruiting summer butternut (800g)
2. Mixed winter squash (Harlequin, Celebration, Table Star, Sweet Lightning) (500g)
3. Mini pumpkin (3" diameter)

Mumofstig - I guess the last 2 on my list are small but I don't know how productive a courgette is...  :unsure:

paintedlady

« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2010, 09:32 »
I don't know how productive a courgette is...  :unsure:

hee hee, I'm sure you'll find out quickly.  Okay that sounded mean - once courgettes start to flower, you tend to have more than you actually need  ;)  Most years they are very productive, just occassionally a cool summer can knock them back but rarely do you get none.
Failure is only a temporary change in direction to set you straight for your next success.
Only those who dare to fail greatly can ever achieve greatly.

mumofstig

• Global Moderator