Starting up

• 20 Replies

Digger

Starting up
« on: February 05, 2006, 22:20 »
Hello

I'm new to the allotment thing and have just got myself a nice site here in Harrogate. Can anyone recommend a good book I can use as a reference 'bible'. Someone I spoke to briefly mentioned one called 'The Vegetable Patch' or 'The Vegetable Garden' or something similar (I can't quite remember), but any further help gratefully received. I could do with one that includes a 'what to do this month...' section.

John

• Administrator
    • Low Cost Living
Starting up
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2006, 01:27 »
Hi Digger

There's a link to Joy Larkom's  Grow Your Own Vegetables on the books page. I really rate it but some people don't. Click the link and Amazon will show you a selection of similar books,.

My all time favourite, although a little dated (1973) is Grow Your Own Fruit and Vegetables  by Lawrence D. Hills but they want 22.50 for a second hand copy on Amazon. May be worth shopping around.

The Vegetable and Herb Expert   by  D.G. Hessayon is a good starting book as well.
Check out our books - ideal presents

John and Val Harrison's Books

ladybird

books
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2006, 08:22 »
Food from your Garden by Reader's Digest is a fantastic reference book. First published 1977 so may be out of print, I picked up a copy in a second hand shop a couple of years ago, what a find. This book explains everything from the moment you first put the spade in the ground to the plate of food on the table, It also has a growing calendar which I follow each month with top result's, If you are fortunate enough to come accross a copy grab it with both hands.  HAPPY HUNTING.
I took over an allotment  approx 2 1/2 years ago on my retirement. Although I find that time is at a premium,  I realy enjoy spending as much time as I can at the allotment..--JUDY

lentil987

• Experienced Member
    • http://www.dancingbear.co.uk
allotment book
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2006, 21:57 »