Planning out the plot

• 7 Replies

rjdiscombe

Planning out the plot
« on: April 01, 2006, 11:30 »
Hi

I am also new to having my own allotment. After many years of waiting the parish council have decided there is sufficient interest to convert an exisiting field that it owns to allotments.

The bad news is that a lot of work has to take place, such as ploughing up the existing grass and erecting a rabbot-proof fence.

A good aspect of not taking over an existing plot is that I start with a blank "canvas". I plan to have raised beds that I will rotate. I am also planning to have permanent areas, such as an asparagus bed, rhubarb, gooseberries and possibly other soft fruit. My main questions is should I put the permanent areas between the rotating beds or is it better to have two distinct areas? I thought the latter might be better as I could put netting up if the bird proved a problem for the soft fruit.

As a newbie I would be grateful for any advice.

Many thanks
Roger

John

• Administrator
    • Low Cost Living
Planning out the plot
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2006, 19:41 »
Hi and Welcome!
If I was you, I'd keep all the fruit together because you can build a cage to keep the birds off.

Also, why deep beds?  I know they're popular, but I'm not convinced they're the best solution for all crops / soil types. Just curious.
Check out our books - ideal presents

John and Val Harrison's Books

Grahame

Planning out the plot
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2006, 08:18 »
Me too. I have recently taken a plot which was cleared and rotovated by the council. I am setting out some fairly low (4") raised beds, mostly 8x4 but some 16x4. Once they are filled I find it easier to work the soil and water and my young kids don't walk on them!!!

I have decided upon a rotation system roots/brassicas/others as usual and I am putting pear trees and soft fruit together but will still have space  to have a go with other bits and pieces during the season:?
Grahame Cardiff

rjdiscombe