help with very wet clay soil

• 15 Replies

criostoirmac

• Freedom will be Taken NOT Given.
help with very wet clay soil
« on: December 13, 2017, 15:53 »
this is my first time with an allotment and i need some advice please, my plot has not been worked for at least 4 or 5 years, i`ve been in with the strimmer and cut down quite a bit ground seems to be wet/very wet squelch when you stand on it. its compacted seems to be heavy clay, i dont have any home made compost to dig in yet can i use multi-purpose? what type of sand should i dig in? should i start digging now or leave it and hope it drys out a bit for spring? thanks :( :(

Title clarified for search purposes
« Last Edit: December 13, 2017, 16:53 by mumofstig »

snow white

Re: help?
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2017, 15:58 »
Don't dig when it is squelchy.  You will ruin the soil structure.  Wait until it dries up more.  Manure is the best thing for clay soil, followed by mushroom compost.  Best to wait till spring now.  Try not to walk on it until it has dried up.  Clay soil is either too claggy, or too much like concrete but if you are patient you will get the perfect time to dig.  You will know when.  Then add manure or compost then.

millimole

Re: help?
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2017, 16:20 »
My plots are on heavy clay - but unlike you, at least mine drain!
The best advice I got - which I'll pass on to you : 'talk to your neighbours, find out what they do, find out how they got started. Discard half the advice, and use the rest!'.
I'd advise not using bought multi-purpose compost (or sand) unless you have extremely deep pockets - you'd need to buy an awful lot to make a significant difference.
I'd also suggest that you start a compost bin NOW - start composting your kitchen waste, and by this time next year you should have a bin full of extremely good stuff to put on your plot.
I'd agree with not standing on it too much, and not to dig it yet-awhile.