Clay soil and humus

• 7 Replies

Christine

Clay soil and humus
« on: February 26, 2009, 19:59 »
I've had to buy in compost to raise the clay back to the original level (back to the walkways around the sides - about two or three inches this winter/spring). But to raise three quarters of a double allotment (fruit trees on other area) is boodly expensive.  :wub:

Nope as a non driver I have no chance of manure (and have been put off with all the problems last year). Yes I can compost with the best of you - there's stuff scrounged from all round everywhere on the compost heaps (my flat, local family, neighbours, cardboard, newspaper, some of my old cotton knickers that disintegrated ...) but nowhere near enough to make an impression.

So does anyone have any suggestions that could be cheap and easy? Because I shall have to repeat this process next winter/spring. The soil isn't the best for draining when there are flash storms and doesn't encourage enough root growth on things like cabbage family. There is a serious shortage of worms it must be said.

penance

Re: Clay soil and humus
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2009, 21:00 »
Maybe add some grit aswell, will add a bit of bulk and help drainage.

Whats the PH? Maybe that is affecting brassica growth. I have heavy clay and in its natural state the PH is about 4.5

Christine

« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2009, 21:16 »
Last time we checked it was a fairly neutral 6.5 - 7 ph

Hadn't thought of grit - thanks for the idea. Brain must have gone numb somewhere cos I've read that lots of times  :wub:

Celery

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2009, 21:27 »
Last year I bought a load of compost of Local skip company.It is waste from the green  recycle bin,whch there contractor has composted.It only cost me £40 pound.
                                                                                                                        Celery

Christine

« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2009, 08:04 »