Yolks in my new hens eggs

• 4 Replies

Fiona Fairgirl

Yolks in my new hens eggs
« on: June 15, 2016, 16:19 »
I'm new to this and had rather a rough start as one of my hens died within a day of starting.She was egg bound and had a sour crop.I introduced her replacement a few days ago.I am putting calcium vit d in the water as one hen still has tendency to lay a soft shell egg,also the egg yolks in the good eggs are very pale not quite as flavourful as the eggs my friend gets.My Gals are hybrid organically raised Columbian black tails and one hybrid Plymouth barred rock.Any suggestions.They are fed on organic layers pellets.Is there a lack of iron? I discovered how much they love comfrey so looked up if it's good for hens and it is so giving them a handful in the afternoon.All advice very welcome

grinling

Re: Yolks in my new hens eggs
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2016, 19:24 »
They will need access to oyster shell for calcium,I have mine in a feeding dish attached to the run.
Mine free range (except at the mo as puppy training) and so eat grass and other plants. Never give mown grass as it will lead to impacted crop. They need the greens to absorb calcium.
If they are not free ranging a cabbage or brassica leaves would be good.
Have you checked over your hens? It is advisable to pick up each one and listen to breathing and check eyes are clear (no bubbles) as well as look for lice.

snow white

« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2016, 21:41 »
What is your set up.  How much space do they have.  Do they have access to "outdoors". 

Chickencoo

« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2016, 11:21 »