Keeping chickens

• 5 Replies

apples6903

Keeping chickens
« on: February 05, 2011, 00:37 »
Hi everyone... for a long time i have been interested in keeping chickens in my garden.....recently we were fortunate enough to acquire a small patch of land behind my garden so we now have space to put in a coop and run. Unfortunetly my neighbours were concerned about our compost bin attracting vermin so no doubt with chickens they will be even  more concerned.. I am hoping to win them over by giving them fresh eggs....Could any one tell me if keeping chickens does attract mice/ rats and the best house to get to fit four hens? Any other advice for a complete newbie would be greatly appreciated. Thankyou in advance for any replies.
David

Fisherman

Re: Keeping chickens
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2011, 07:36 »
The only thing that attracts vermin is food and a cosy place to live. If you design your coop correctly, prevent access to food and keep your run clean and tidy then you will have very few problems. For four hens you will need a small coop and a run at least 8 Mts. square but bigger the better. Covering part or all of the run helps especially in winter when it can get muddy and it also needs to be made fox proof. Raised coops say a metre off the ground are popular and provide some weather protection for the birds and also eliminate vermin living underneath it. If you'r getting chickens primarily for eggs then I would advise getting Hybrids as 4 hens will produce around 2 dozen eggs a week in their first year or two. Make sure you read up or search the site on parasite control (internal & external) as you need to be prepared before getting your birds. By the way you don't need a cockerel as chickens will lay just as well without one and I guess one would cause you more hassle with your neighbours than the vermin.

Just post a question and / or use the search facility if you need more specific information .

beth123

• Experienced Member