How many Chickens in how big an area?

• 13 Replies

mum2many

« on: February 27, 2007, 13:28 »
Ok I know its the same as how long is a piece of string :lol:

Total beginner at this but would like to have our own chickens.

how many should we start with?
how big an area would you allow for the coop and run to keep that number happy?
Em x
Already got names for my chooks but dont tell "Tom"
organic? non organic? not a clue only just started

mum2many

« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2007, 17:15 »
Ok, how about 4 hens to start with in a 6ft x 4ft shed/coop with 6ft x 4 ft run?

to big?
to small?
to many birds for a beginner?

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2007, 17:34 »
As a rule of thumb each hen should have at least 1 sq meter of run space.

4 hens = 4 squ meters

6 x 4 ft run is aprox  2.6 sq meters   (quick conversion done there)

The coop does not need to be nearly that big as thy only need to roost and lay there. ( I guess an eglu (for 4 birds) is about 1 sq meter though I've never measured it).

Hope that helps  :D

muntjac

« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2007, 20:27 »
its big enough for 5 hens and 8 bantams , get a breed that is easy to manage like welsummers .or buff orpington bantams , these sizes are what came i when the animal geniuses got together and said  this is what a chicken needs ,.without consulting the chicken...... :roll: .if they can  keep 500 hens in a 100 yd by 30 yd barn complex and care for them like they do with  roost poles all around the beds and get away with it  by not breaking the same laws applied to small keepers ,then where do they figures come in then .. .  :wink:  :lol:
still alive /............

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2007, 20:29 »
Do those poor chooks ever see the sky Munty  :(

muntjac

« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2007, 20:37 »