Broody ducks

• 5 Replies

debbiesmeadow

Broody ducks
« on: February 16, 2012, 12:16 »
Hi all I am new to this so please bear with me I thought I had posted a topic but can't find it so I am going to try again lol  :)
Has anyone ever had two ducks sharing nest duty? I have two runner girls who have decided they are both broody and are sharing sitting on the same nest - they seem happy and content so I am leaving them to it  :)

debbiesmeadow

Re: Broody ducks
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2012, 12:20 »
Aha found this one lol just added photo the red glow is a 100 watt brooder lamp set high above them so they don't get too hot - we had loads of snow last week when I took the photo.
ducks and stuff 014.JPG

Sassy

« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2012, 13:18 »
Ducks are not renowned for going broody and I cannot offer advice re them both sharing a nest. However, if I am right in thinking you have the heat lamp over your sitting ducks this is not necessary and should only be used for babies being reared manually. If you have a hen or duck doing the job they will sort out for you the keeping warm of the hatchlings. :) :)
Experience is what you get when you didn't get what you wanted!!

ANHBUC

• "You looking at me?!!!"
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2012, 15:03 »
I think Muscovy ducks go broody regularly but not heard the same of runner ducks. 

If they are happy to share broody duties I would leave them to it.  As Sassy said no need for the heat lamp, it will ony make them feel the cold more when going out to feed.  I would think that it could cause health problems with the heat and then the extreme cold.
Ain't Nobody Here But Us Chickens!
Bagpuss RIP 1992 - June 2012, 1 huge grass carp (RIP "Jaws" July 2001 - December 2011), 4 golden orfe, 1 goldfish and 1 fantail fish (also huge)! plus 4 Italian quail, 1 Japanese quail, 1 Rosetta quail.

Kate and her Ducks

« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2012, 18:24 »