DIY Chicken Coop

• 23 Replies

Muckytyke

DIY Chicken Coop
« on: July 26, 2010, 22:00 »
Hello everyone. I am new to the Hen House and I'm so pleased to have found such an informative and friendly forum. I've been reading the new posts for a week or so now and have been really taken aback by the problems that red spider mites can cause to chickens. I don't have any chickens yet but I'm soon going to build my own coop and run. I would like to "design out" the nooks and crannies where these nasty beasties live.
>:(
I will be using external plywood and planed timber to build the coop. I want to use PVA adhesive to screw and glue the structure of the coop so that I fill any crevices between the plywood and the framing. I am also considering coating the plywood interior to fill minor cracks in the plywood. Can someone please advise me whether PVA adhesive would harm the chickens? Is there another product that I could use? Does anyone have any other ideas that I could build in? Thanks very much - I hope I am supplying answers rather than all these questions very soon!
:wacko: :)

Bogof

Re: DIY Chicken Coop
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2010, 22:40 »
I used the same materials as you except I used liquid nail. I also put the framework on the outside to reduce hiding places. I painted the entire coop with fence paint in an attempt to reduce holes.
Buy One Get One Free.

hillfooter

« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2010, 00:03 »
Hi Muckytyke,

Welcome to the site and congratulations on deciding to become a chicken keeper and join the mad bonkers world of chicken enthusiasts.  If you haven't introduced yourself there's a welcome page you can use to tell everyone a bit about yourself.  i expect Joy or another mod will be along soon to direct you there.

Also congratulations on starting off on the right foot by learning a little about the art of keeping before rushing out and buying an inappropriate house and the first birds that catch your eye.