Dismantling a greenhouse

• 21 Replies

dexyblue

• Experienced Member
Dismantling a greenhouse
« on: January 08, 2010, 12:20 »
Hi all, I am new to this so forgive me if I have posted in wrong place.
I have been given a greenhouse by a kind freecycler and I have to go to dismantle it this weekend, my question is how do I get the glass out as I presume this comes out first...
Will this be an easy job?
I am dreading it in this weather but needs must.
TIA
I came I saw I grew my own veg

Ice

• muck spreader
Re: Dismantling a greenhouse
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2010, 12:22 »
If it's like mine the glass will be held in by metal clips.  I would take some pointed nose pliers and thick gloves.
Cheese makes everything better.

compostqueen

« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2010, 12:24 »
the glass is held in place probably by clips which are a sod to get off, specially in this cold weather.  Wear some gloves and take some pliers as they can be really sharp. The glass is likely to break too so beware and wear good boots and protect your shins.  It could take some while so don't start the job late in the day  :)  take plenty of newspaper to wrap up the pieces of glass

I think it's a dangerous job as the glass seems to break at the slightest provocation

I have two greenhouses to restore and repair but I'm waiting til spring  :)

dexyblue

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2010, 12:39 »
Thanks to you both, not looking forward to this at all  :(

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2010, 12:53 »
When transporting glass, stack the panes vertically with one sheet of newspaper in between them. Do not lay them horizontally, one slight bend & they will break.
Did it really tell you to do THAT on the packet?

8doubles

« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2010, 12:59 »