Hens Laying Songs and Other strange sounds

• 5 Replies

henamoured

• Experienced Member
Hens Laying Songs and Other strange sounds
« on: May 04, 2010, 23:00 »
I'm relatively new to hen keeping, I've had my four for about 3 months - 2 now laying, two about to come in to lay. (BTW this site has been absolutely GREAT for a beginner like me).
The two older ones which are laying go in to the nesting box, usually in the morning and make the normal rythmic laying clucks for about 10 minutes. But on Saturday I was in the garden and noticed Hennypenny had gone to lay and her friend Venus as normal was standing by the coop at the bottom of the ladder waiting for her. Normally I don't like to go too near when they're laying in case I disturb them, but this time I edged nearer and realised that it was Venus who was doing the laying song - not Hennypenny who was actually laying the egg!!
When Hennypenny had laid her egg, she came out, had a drink and then Venus went in to lay and Hennypenny started the laying rosey!!
Is this normal? Has anyone else noticed this surrogate rosey? Does anyone know why they do the laying rosey anyway? I'd have thought their instinct would be to stay quiet when they are in what is presumably a vulnerable position in the wild?
The other thing I've noticed is that if I'm doing something around them for a while they make a bah bah bah sound very softly - the same sound they make to each other when they're going to bed at night. I think this is a sort of recognition sound - alerting each other to the fact that a friend is entering the coop and not a potential attacker. When I try and imitate this soft bah bah sound, they return it. I'm not sure what I'm saying to them but I'm sure they think it's something nice!!
I'd be interested to hear anyone else's thoughts.

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
Re: Hens Laying Songs and Other strange sounds
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2010, 07:06 »