When to get back on the land

• 20 Replies

gorymorph

When to get back on the land
« on: February 01, 2010, 16:52 »
hi
   may seem a daft question but when should you go back on the land after all the snow and rain. I have heard people say that it will do more harm than good going on at this time of  year. But just when is it ok to go back on what sort of conditions should i look for.
im new to this only got allotment last april/ may time

crh75

Re: When to get back on the land
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2010, 17:06 »
Good question.

If the soil is wet then walking on it will compact it ruining the drainage, squeezing out the air, and changing the structure.  The bacteria in the soil then respire anaerobically and produce acid lowering the pH of the soil.  

So try to avoid treading on the soil when wet. Using planks or boards help reduce the compaction while allowing you to work.  Personally I go down the allotment every weekend as there is always harvesting and tidying up to be done.  

If you need to dig it over you can still stand on planks of wood while doing it. But again dont' do it if it is too wet for similar reasons to above, also it will be very hard work!

The conditions will be very dependent on your local climate and soil type. I have clay soil at the top of a gentle slope. So I don't get standing water so just wait for a few days, perhaps a week, without rain and normally it is fine.
You will have to judge your's yourself. As long as it is not sodden it should be fine.
« Last Edit: February 01, 2010, 17:10 by crh75 »

ex-cavator

« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2010, 17:44 »
Good question.

If the soil is wet then walking on it will compact it ruining the drainage, squeezing out the air, and changing the structure.  The bacteria in the soil then respire anaerobically and produce acid lowering the pH of the soil.