Rotavating versus digging

• 5 Replies

ChickenPie

Rotavating versus digging
« on: April 04, 2016, 11:05 »
Hi all
I'm new to the forum but have had our allotment for 3 years now.
I haven't been able to dig the plot over winter as I hurt my back a few months ago moving gravel in the garden, but it really needs digging before I start getting things in. Are rotavators ok to just go over the whole thing? I've only ever seen one used on the allotment site and wasn't sure if it's because they don't do a good enough job or people just prefer digging over the winter months?
Thanks in advance

Casey76

Re: Rotavating versus digging
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2016, 11:11 »
I'm no expert, but this has been my experience:

It depends!

It depends on what your soil is like, and how many weeds you have, and the type of weeds they are.

I have a Mantis tiller, and despite what the company advertises I can dig to a better depth using a fork/spade, than I can with the tiller.  Also, unless the ground is pre-dug, the tiller doesn't make a dent in it.

I spent a couple of weeks - doing 30-40 mins a day - digging over my patch, getting all of the weed roots out, before even attempting to go over with the tiller.

Having said that, if I could carry/manouever a heavier rotavator, it may have made the job easier/quicker.

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2016, 11:12 »
This very recent thread should answer your question :)

http://chat.allotment-garden.org/index.php?topic=122870.msg1446772#msg1446772

Good luck!

ChickenPie

« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2016, 11:53 »
Thanks for the quick replies and the link does help!

I probably should have given a bit more info on my plot sorry.  It's heavy soil but between areas that have been in work and those covered with black plastic, the perennial weeds and their roots that were thriving when we took the plot on have now all gone. The soil is quite easy to dig so if we got a heavy duty rotavator hopefully it'd get through it?