Help with new chicks

• 7 Replies

sorrel

• Experienced Member
Help with new chicks
« on: November 21, 2006, 10:58 »
Hi all - I have 1 week old chicks (incubator hatched) who are fighting fit and growing fast, however,  i would like a little advice.

The chicks are in a brooder box, lined with newspaper and to be blunt, their poo, is contstantly getting stuck on their feet and i've the enviable task of removing it...(I do clean them out daily, of course but wondered if shavings or sawdust on top of the paper might help)..   I did try shavings but they seem to like eating it so I removed it...

also I am assuming that at least one of the chicks will be a male (and therefore become my dinner at some point) and wondered at what age are they the best for the pot...........

Many thanks
Sorrel  :lol:
Starting from scratch............

Tensing

• Experienced Member
    • uk goat owners
Help with new chicks
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2006, 12:14 »
Hi Sorrel,

I'm by no means an expert only hatched a few birds myself so far. I'm sure Muntjac will be on later to answer your question fully.

I have wood shavings in with my two day old ducklings and used it with my quail as well, both seemed to eat it at first but soon realised the difference between food and wood shavings.

As for when to eat the male, this I believe varies from breed to breed.
Caroline

muntjac

Help with new chicks
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2006, 13:09 »
just arrived glasgow checking my mails and caught this so i can answer no probs  :D

lay lots of sheets of paper and just remove a couple of sheets that are soiled  never put sawdust down with any chicks as they will end up dying of compacted crop . eat them when they start to actually crow and have meat on them if the noise is a factor or save them for a year and enjoy ,  :lol:
still alive /............

sorrel

• Experienced Member
Help with new chicks
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2006, 13:28 »
Many thanks for the advice........