Beaks !

• 10 Replies

Lindyloo

Beaks !
« on: December 29, 2010, 18:53 »
Hi, first post on the forum so looking forward to receiving loads of useful advise as I'm new to hen keeping !
One of my birds, a POL cream legbar has a slightly extended bottom beak ( about 3mm longer than the upper one), she doesn't seem to be quite as good at pecking up food than the other in the house, should I be worried??

orchardlady

Re: Beaks !
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2010, 19:17 »
Welcome Lindy loo. You  really don't need to worry about your lady with an extended bottom beak. Unless you feel she really is not getting her fair share in which case you can trim a little bit off just as you would a toe nail then file the edge with a little bit of fine sand paper. You will find over time that just plain scratching around will wear it down to.

Hen keeping is such fun but brings it's anxieties to so just ask, there's lot's of helpful people here and we certainly do not scoff or jeer at questions however off the wall they might be.

OL

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2010, 21:19 »
hello and welcome. Some breeders (the same with battery farms) clip the hens beaks to stop them pecking each other.
Staffies are softer than you think.

Hayley'sHens

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2010, 21:23 »
Joy,
Is it ok to clip the top of a hens beak? My cream legbar's top part is really long and crosses over the bottom part of her beak, She eats ok though

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2010, 21:27 »
here are some instructions although I have never had to do it. Be careful and clip just a small amount at a time you can always clip a bit more afterwards.

http://www.ehow.com/how_4513302_trim-chickens-beak.html

Hayley'sHens

• Experienced Member
« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2010, 21:32 »
Thank you   :happy:

Kathie

• Experienced Member
« Reply #6 on: December 30, 2010, 11:04 »