Life Expectancy?

• 7 Replies

Luther

Life Expectancy?
« on: February 19, 2007, 22:17 »
Hi Everyone,

A fantastic forum for learning some useful stuff.

I've been keeping chickens for nearly 3 years now.
I purchased my first birds - 4 Warrens at 'point of lay' in September 2004. These hybrid birds have been fantastic fun and great layers.
Unfortunately we lost 2 of them to the fox in the last 12 months, but the other 2 are still 'going strong' and are still laying at the 'grand old age' of nearly 3 years.
My flock has increased since then and I now have 6 Barbu D'Anvers bantams and 4 Welbars.
Whilst I am always considering adding some new birds to the flock, I often wonder what the life expectancy of my chickens is.
I understand that at some point, they will stop laying, but what is their life expectancy beyond that?
In years to come, I probably wouldn't want a relatively large number of birds who were living well beyond their 'sell by date'.
I'm obviously going to care for the birds I currently have regardless, but depending on your response(s), I may have to reconsider adding new birds to the family.
Thanks
Luther.

muntjac

Life Expectancy?
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2007, 22:21 »
does 9 years friten ya lolo and she was stil laying at 7  . welcome to the site luther . ur birds depending on the breeds can lay upto this time but i would look at eating them after 4 .if they are pets dont worry about how long they wil lay for just enjoy em while thye do .i replace my egg layers every 2 years with home breds , hope this helps you
still alive /............

Luther

Life Expectancy?
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2007, 16:21 »
Muntjac,

Thanks for that............'blooming hell' mate, 9 years is frightening. I don't think I will be divulging that snippet of information to Mrs Luther...........otherwise there may be a definate blockade on any further additions to the flock.