I want to build a run.

• 16 Replies

clairebeau

• Experienced Member
    • My Blog. Brambly Corner.
I want to build a run.
« on: July 19, 2009, 19:45 »
Hello all,

I want to build a chicken run.  I just know I will get fed up half way through, rush it and not measure correctly, cut myself and possibly saw a finger off.  Not sure why I am bothering really,  ::) but I have a new drill and 6 weeks off work.  

I don't want anything posh or too expensive and must be easy for me as I have no experience at all!  Although I am quite arty and handy at things otherwise.

So, is there anyone who is brave enough to show me their attempts at making a run?  I have seen on here lots of very fine examples of woodworking that has certainly impressed me, but I want to see first attempts, maybe more like make do sort of projects, using unusual materials that you have found lying around and you have put to good creative use.  

Regarding Mr Fox, he would think he was at an all you can eat buffet if he gave us a call, I guess we've just been lucky upto now, as it is I think it would prob be too much effort to kill our girls as Macdonalds is at one end of my road and a chippy at the other, plus old ladies feeding hedghogs etc, so I think my pen is more just to keep the girls in one spot and not pooing at the back door or scratching up my plants!

I need some encouragment.

Thanks all.  Keep up the good work and if we all wish hard enough this rain will eventually stop, BAH!

C. x
Claire. x

"Candy is dandy, but liquor is quicker!" - Ogden Nash

beulah59

• Experienced Member
    • Hen Keeper
Re: I want to build a run.
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2009, 20:17 »

I used some MDPE water piping offcuts ... you could make it any size you want. This is 1.2m x 2.4m and about 3ft high, but I've seen a WIR built a similar way. It's covered with a double layer of 13mm mesh now, of course! :)
two daughters, nine hens, two goldfish, three cats ...

karlooben

« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2009, 20:19 »