shallots

• 7 Replies

juliec

• Experienced Member
shallots
« on: March 31, 2011, 11:22 »
Hi All,

Ive planted garlic, onions and shallots which are all coming up nicely.  However the shallots appear to be coming up in bunches, there are several shoots coming up from each shallot planted.  Is this normal and are they growing a bunch iof shallots down there.  Also when will I know if they are ready for  harvesting?

Many thanks for  any help, this is my first time growing shallots and garlic.

jools

gillie

Re: shallots
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2011, 11:28 »
Yes, this is normal, and yes, they will grow a 'bunch of shallots'.

Towards the end of the summer the tops will turn brown and die down.  When this has happened you can lift your shallots, dry them in the sun and then store them.

juliec

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2011, 11:32 »
Thanks very much that now makes sense.
x

TerryB

• Winner of the Tallest Sunflower Competition - 2011
  • Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2011, 15:25 »
If you want spring onions before the ones planted from seed are ready, you can lift shallots early, before the bulbs get to big. 

ferreter51

« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2011, 07:44 »
I planted my shallots about a month ago, but so far only one set has sprouted and I am getting a bit worried.  As posted in another thread I have had trouble with a neighbour's chickens digging up anything I planted to get at any food underneath, but I covered the shallot sets with well-anchored wire mesh and I know they have not been disturbed.  Should I wait and hope or should I try to buy some more sets and plant those in a different place?

prakash_mib

« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2011, 08:20 »