Vine growing - general advice (first post!)

• 8 Replies

robinahood

• Experienced Member
Vine growing - general advice (first post!)
« on: August 10, 2014, 11:49 »
Hello,

Although I have been reading these posts for a while, this is my first try! I have always loved gardening but only recently tried growing my own food, and I am hooked. I have a small city garden (no allotments available near me) and the soil is very light and hungry. I am also fortunate to have a small south facing yard, and would love to have a grapevine over a pergola type structure, to provide a screen against my neighbours washing, and a lovely green space to sit with a cool drink on a summer day. Edible grapes would be a bonus!

My questions, having read the info on this site are firstly, is it possible to grow the vine outside in a pot, given my poor soil? Would it survive winter frosts? And secondly, which varieties would you recommend for

Many thanks ::)

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: Vine growing - general advice (first post!)
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2014, 13:35 »
No idea but welcome to the site  :D
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

realfood

• Experienced Member
    • Grow Your Own Info
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2014, 21:48 »
I would plant in the ground to avoid watering problems. Grapes are hardy and will go dormant over the Winter loosing their leaves.

robinahood

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2014, 05:48 »
Thanks Yorkie and realfood,

I will give it a go, nothing ventured etc!.......

:) :) :

Ma Lowe

• Allotment owner from Feb 2014
« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2014, 09:13 »
Hi and welcome to the site. Don't know if you have been to the RHS site some useful info there too here's the link

https://www.rhs.org.uk/advice/profile?PID=288

robinahood

• Experienced Member
« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2014, 16:59 »
Thanks Ma,