Chicken Bed Time

• 12 Replies

MidlandBrewer

• Experienced Member
  • Homebrew Hero
Chicken Bed Time
« on: November 16, 2016, 09:10 »
Hi All,
Ive been keeping chickens for a few months now, not only have they been a joy, theyve also been very well behaved and problem free.
The last two nights however theyve refused to go into their coop at night, Ive changed nothing in the coop, there perches are in the same place, its clean, dry and pest free.
The food is the same during the day and there water is fresh..

Could anyone suggest a reason why the ladies would stop going into the coop to sleep?
What makes it stranger is there still going in there during the day to lay

Im at an utter loss
Please help 

MidlandBrewer

• Experienced Member
  • Homebrew Hero
Re: Chicken Bed Time
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2016, 10:07 »
Thought id clarify as I didnt put it in the first post, there all huddling up together and sleeting under the coop at night....

Sassy

« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2016, 11:18 »
One of the reasons for this behaviour can be red mite in the coop. It is a bit late in the year for this though it has been mild - have I answered this before for you? Sorry if I am repeating myself. Try using some white paper/card and insert into cracks and crevices moving from side to side, if comes out red/brownpositive for red mite.

Are there any rodents getting entry at night, check for holes in ground and coop. Rats will knaw their way in.

I am assuming, and apologies if I'm stating the obvious, that it is darkish when you expect them to go in?  :)
Experience is what you get when you didn't get what you wanted!!

MidlandBrewer

• Experienced Member
  • Homebrew Hero
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2016, 11:41 »