rotavating in january??

• 11 Replies

scottishislandlass

rotavating in january??
« on: January 02, 2009, 11:24 »
i finally discovered i can make use of a croft for what will hopefully be a rather large vegetable patch.  i began digging the ground a couple of months ago, and unfortunately it really is too hard going with rushes etc.  i don't think i can wait another year to grow veg!  would it be bad for the ground to rotavate in the coming weeks?  i have no idea.  all suggestions welcome!

SalJ1980

rotavating in january??
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2009, 11:28 »
Hi islandlass! I have no experience of rotovating so can't help you there - I don't know if the ground might be a bit too hard this early in the year?

You could always start by cutting the rushes down low to the ground and then covering the ground with black plastic sheeting or cardboard to suppress the weeds/rushes from growing back, then rotovate and/or dig more thoroughly when the ground is a bit more forgiving?

I'm sure someone else will be along shortly with more ideas.

Please do pop in to the Welcome to the Forums board and introduce yourself there!

:D
Sal

Organic...so far!

8Bed

• http://mozeallotment.blogspot.com/
rotavating in january??
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2009, 11:36 »
I tried rotavating a few beds of ours Tuesday morning  :D

I gave up after 10mins as it was -4 degrees & it just bounced off the surface.

-8bed

richyrich7

• Paper Potter
    • My home business Egg box labels and more
rotavating in january??
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2009, 11:38 »
Not 100% sure on this, but my feeling is that if the grounds not frozen or too wet then a rough rotovation would be ok, bit like winter digging leave the clods to break down naturally.
If you reduce it down to a tilth now I think it will compact again with the rain and frosts, thats why I suggest just doing a rough job for now, you can always do it again in the spring just before planting.